sleep apnea and punch drunk love


What do they have in common? They both suck. My Dr is arranging for me to have a sleep study done and confirm or deny that I have sleep apnea. She thinks I do, and it would be nice to figure out what the f to do about my shitty sleep, because I don’t get any without medication and, I listened to a recording my wife made to confirm, I stop breathing for up to a minute and a half and don’t wake up, mostly just gasping and 25 second long pauses in breathing.

3 responses to “sleep apnea and punch drunk love

  1. I’m glad you are taking care of it. If you do have it, you will feel so much better with treatment! Like night and day… so says my brother. Our mother had it and now he does, too. The new CPAP is much less intrusive than before, so he says he got used to it pretty quickly. He thought it would interfere with his romantic time with his wife, but since he feels so much more energetic now, he says it’s better than ever!

    Praying for you,
    DJ

  2. Wow, I’m sure that’s scary for your wife. My husband would stop breathing at times early in our marriage. I would have trouble sleeping because I was always afraid he would be dead when I woke up. There were many times that I would watch his back move up and down while he slept, trying to make sure he was still breathing. Good thing you’re having it looked into. My husband stopped doing this suddenly a few years into our marriage. I think it was a dramatic weight loss that caused him to breathe more normally while sleeping. Not sure, though, He never had it looked into.

    • To be honest, I couldn’t tell you how long I’ve been doing it for, but (and bRaving Bipolar could amplify this) I think the weight gain I had in 2010 exacerbated the problem if I already had it. I’m slowly working my way back to a healthier composition–not necessarily weight loss, but fat loss: absolutely.
      Over the last week or so we’ve changed up our sleep routine, so that she takes ambien about half an hour before I do so that she is (theoretically) falling asleep or close to it as I am taking mine.

Leave a Reply

